Process Process Process

In my last post about my learning project you got to watch me draw the human face at a flat angle. After that I started learning about drawing at different angles.Below are some pics of a starting point (a long with some other doodles). I did these on paper a few weeks back before I had my new iPad.

IMG_9680.jpgIMG_9679.jpg

I felt like these were an okay start but they still looked fairly flat, and I wanted to try and create something that was more believably three dimensional. I was a bit frustrated because even though I was following tutorials my drawing still felt fairly cartoonish.

Foervraengd has a really strong tutorial where they explain how the simple act of drawing cubes and spheres with lines around them can go a long way in developing a spatial reasoning that can be used for drawing. Since spheres are what is used to as a starting point for the human head I focused on those. Below are some snapshots of little drawing I made while following the tutorial

IMG_0045.jpg

I found this exercise of drawing a sphere with a flat rectangle on it the front of it super crucial. Since this rectangle is going to represent the face of the head, it was important for me to learn how to draw this at various angles as it will go a long way in helping me to draw a face at various angles. As you can see in the picture below, getting the angle of the rectangle sheet to match that of the sphere is achieved by matching the crosses on both shapes.

IMG_0046.jpg

And then there were faces. I feel like Dr. Frankenstein as I bring these objects to LIFE!

IMG_0047.jpg

After I finished with this exercise Foervraengd talks about how learning to draw a human skull is beneficial to drawing a three dimension face. Above you can see the process to drawing one at a flat angle. The images you see below represent the process of drawing a human skull at an angle that better conveys space. The red parts you see are meant to help guide me in determining where the front of the face ends and the side begins, which I’m sure will help me to understand shading a little later on too.

IMG_0048.jpg

And then I attacked a profile version. This was a little different because if that rectangle is a flat sheet then it disappears to a line in a profile version. As I said in my last post, I am surprised at how much math-like plotting is used to maintain proportions in anatomy. As you can see with the first image below the shape of the face is formed but connecting the lines between what would be the rectangle (which goes down a little passed the circle) and the cross in the circle. The line that forms the jawline goes from the bottom of the chin so that when it extends it just grazes past the perimeter of the circle. This math-like approach to drawing is exactly what i was hoping to learn with this project. I wanted to be able to be sure that I had the portions correct, or if not, easily be able to see where I went wrong.

IMG_0049.jpg

Watch a sped up video of me drawing this below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

